CodeCraft is a coding competition for grade 9 students. The aim of the competition is to develop computational thinking in secondary school learners of grade 9. CodeCraft is an initiative developed by the MIE, more precisely by a team from the CODL comprising of Dr Vicky Avinash Oojorah, Anoop Bullee, Hirishant Rajcoomar, Norbert Meunier, Shabneez Panchoo and Vikram Roocha. CodeCraft beneficiates from the financial support of the Rotary Club of Port Louis. The organising committee is chaired by Dr Oojorah.

The coding competition is scheduled over 2 phases. The first phase is a preliminary round where teams from colleges around the island are invited to demonstrate their coding skills through the completion of various tasks. The second phase, known as the finals, involves 30 best teams selected from the preliminary phase.

The first edition of CodeCraft was held in 2016. The first edition required learners to develop digital story telling. The winner of the first edition was an all-girls team from MGSSS Solférino.

The second edition held in 2017 was about gamification of learning. Indeed, learners had to code and educational game. The winning team came from Royal College Curepipe.

The current edition of 2018 is based on the 50th independence anniversary of Mauritius. Teams in the final are expected to construct a digital timeline on a given theme.  For the 2018 edition, the MIE has benefitted from the support and collaboration of many partners such as the National Archives, the National Library, the Mahatma Gandhi Institute and the Mauritius Broadcasting Corporation.

The organising team is currently preparing for the 2019 and 2020 editions with the support of the Rotary Club of Port Louis. Watch this space for more.

Like and follow us on Facebook: